Lifestyle

Picking and Choosing?

I often get inspired by a lot of things. I mean I listen to music 99% of the time that I am awake ( sometimes when I sleep too) I watch YouTube videos and I absolutely love reading about different lifestyles people have.

But there are some things that bother me. That being, people who assume that their lifestyle is 100% the best. Or that there is only one way to apply the lifestyle they have.

A great example is minimalism. I mean you guys have no idea how many comments I have seen on someone’s blog post or video where people tell the person/ writer that they are doing the minimalism thing wrong because they own more than say 20 things. And I mean that is ridiculous. If you do some research online one of the first results is this:

Minimalism is a tool to rid yourself of life’s excess in favor of focusing on what’s important—so you can find happiness, fulfillment, and freedom.

Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus

For some reason, a lot of people understand the word minimalism only within the context of how much and what you own, but really it goes so much deeper than that. Minimalism is to do with everything that brings you value in life, family, passions, work, home, friendships and spirituality as well. For everyone what you feel like is excess is different. I mean someone who’s passion is being a makeup artist can not get rid of their makeup collection, while I can have a minimal one. Someone who is a mother can’t get rid of all of the toys her kids have just because that makes her own more than 50 objects.

But both of those people can sever toxic relationships. Both can decide to concentrate on the important things in life like family, friends and their passions. Still, both of their minimalism is going to look different. Nothing is black and white, not even minimalism.

But this kind of a view is around us a lot, not just with minimalism, this is common with a healthy lifestyle where someone eats XX amount of some food and now everyone should do the same, or how some people have a certain sense of style and everyone should be the same. I mean I love neutral colors but I still have colorful clothes too. And I love mozzarella salad but I still eat a lot of other foods too.

My point is that you do not have to just choose this one way of thinking or being. It’s ok to eat junk food once in a while and still regard yourself as healthy. It is ok to own more than 50 things and consider yourself as a minimalist. You choose your own rule that you live by, and as long as you do not harm anyone else then that is perfectly fine.

In case you wanted to read the blog about minimalism I quoted earlier the link is: http://www.theminimalists.com/minimalism/

Hope you enjoyed the post, and please leave a comment. What do you think about this? Do you agree? Have you had the same experiences as me?

XOXO

The Writer

 

 

Leave a Reply

