Life lessons

A rant; Trash

I have a lot of stuff. I have so much stuff that I do not need that I don’t always remember what I even have. I have clothes I don’t wear and I have a lot of stuff I could give away or sell. I am not a hoarder but over time there are just things that accumulate and somehow they just stay around. And  I bet most of you can relate. But this isn’t really my issue right now, though its certainly an important thing to remember and I have it on my to do list to lessen the amount of crap I have.

My issue is the total disregard for anything we own. The disrespect we have for money and the amount of trash we produce every year. For example have some of you noticed the videos on Instagram that are “so satisfying” but then they are just about cutting a phone up, or dropping it from X high building or shooting 7 phones to see if the bullet goes through the 8th one. Yeah, there are those types of people. And I am not even talking about trashy phones, I am talking about really expensive I phone. Not that it’d matter in the end because my biggest concern is the amount of waste, problematic waste that produces. It isn’t like they are cutting up a flower that will later on turn to dirt. No it is metal and plastic, and if its properly broken or cut apart can those parts even be used again?

Even if those phones would be given to the video maker for free. Or they would be faulty ones that would go to the trash anyway, those videos teach people something very dangerous. We do not have to care or take care about what we own, because it is replaceable. And that thought that idea is dangerous, not because it wouldn’t be true to an extent but because we are already abusing our planet, we already have so much stuff we don’t need and so much we throw out every day, that the attitude that we can continue doing that with no consequences is dangerous. And very sad.

I feel sad that kids these days don’t even feel sorry for breaking their phones because they know they will get a new one. I feel sad that some people find it satisfying to just break and damage stuff that another person with less privileges can’t even imagine ever having. If you have so much money to just throw away, then throw it at someone who needs it. Invest in your education or business, do not trash our already dying planet.

I am not a hardcore activist. I have a phone and I have stuff I don’t really need, just like all of us do. But to on purpose, without any thought or regret trashing our planet, adding to the already drastic changes that our planet is having, is immature, sad and just plain neglectful of our future generation as well as the animals that live here. So please for the love of our future, this planet or what ever you actually find dear, think before you break something, think before you add salt to the wounds of this planet. Haven’t we done enough damage?

Leave a Reply

