Goals, Life lessons

Who Am I?

We often find people online saying things life “I found out who I was this year” or “I have no clue who I am” and questions/ realizations like that. And I am one of those people who has been 100% sure I’ve figured out who I am at the age of 15, and I have questioned who I am for the whole year of 2016 (at the age of 20).

By the end of 2016, I realized we won’t really ever know who we are. After all, we always learn something new, until the day that we die.

Every day we are changed a bit. We read an article or book that moves us. We learn a new way to look at things, or we find out that our favorite color isn’t purple but turquoise, and in the end, those things are very small. But they change who we are.  And the best thing in this? It is totally ok. There is no shame in not knowing who you are.

Now, I realize a lot of people will misunderstand this. “If I don’t know who I am, how can I do anything in life?” And the answer is simple. You do what feels like the right thing to do, by the person you are today. Chances are it is the same thing as yesterday, and it will be the same thing tomorrow. But also not knowing what you want to do is ok. Then you just work hard at what life gives you right now.

For example, I study in a University of Applied sciences to become a management assistant. Do I want to do that for the rest of my life? Probably not, do I absolutely love studying it, nope, not really. But I got into the school, I love languages and I have an opportunity to study them there without becoming a teacher or a language researcher or something, so, I took the chance. Because I see that I am at least taking steps forward. I will try my best to learn everything the school offers me and enjoy the process of becoming smarter. I will have a chance to study for a semester abroad and I find that to be very exciting.

My point is you do not have to know who you are, to do something. I would describe myself as an artist, as I love writing, not just for my blog, but fantasy as well. But would I want to become a writer? I actually think I might. I don’t know what I want as my scale of success to be. Would I want fame out of it? I don’t know. But I write for myself and those who I can help, not to become famous. I love to think about life and the meaning of it and ponder how to make it better for myself. Am I a philosopher, not even close.

Who you were this morning is not set in stone. You do not have a contract signed with your blood. It is okay to not know who you are; if and only if, you work hard at making progress. When you make progress you gain more in life, you can do more in life, and even though you are always going to be a work in progress, at least you are moving on in your life. You aren’t stuck in your mind thinking “Who I am, What is my purpose.”  I can guarantee that you will never find the answer to that if you don’t do something and be happy about having the chance to figure out even more of what you do not know.

Thank you for reading! Be sure to leave me a comment of what you think? Does someone disagree? What is the hardest thing for you in not knowing who you are?

With love,

The Writer

 

Leave a Reply

